Trip to Tennessee

22 Jun

Hubster and I have some downtime in our wedding season this year. Last year we took advantage by heading out to Colorado for a week. It was AMAZING! (see pictures here and here) This year we’re more budget conscious thanks to moving cities over the winter. As luck would have it, my aunt and uncle came in the same weekend as our studio open house and renewed their request to have us out to take pictures of their bed and breakfast. We accepted so the trip planning is on… but not really in full swing. Colorado, especially Boulder, was a bit more up our alley (i.e. Let’s hike in the morning and happy hour in the evening. Done.) Tennessee is… well I’m not quite sure what we’re going to do. So I’m soliciting suggestions.

Here’s an estimate of the route we’re going to take.

It’s our first road trip and I’m interested in making a stop or two along the way if we find something worthy. The general plan is go through Nashville on the way out. We’ll leave mid-day so any stops would need to be short so we don’t get to the B&B too late. On the way back, I’m thinking we’ll head through Kentucky so we have some variety. We should have all day to travel so if there’s something worth stopping at I’m open to ideas. I’m also willing to reverse the route if something in Nashville really piques our interest.

We have two strong candidates to for filling our few days in Tennessee:
Smoky Mountain National Park
Biltmore Estate (technically this is in North Carolina, but I keep hearing it is worth the day trip)

We’re not into super hokey touristy things, which seems to be limiting in this area (i.e. We’re not going to Dollywood. As a side note, Hubster and I have actually both been to Dollywood in our younger years. This seems very random to me.) We’re also not huge into country or bluegrass music… also limiting.

Barring those things, any suggestions from the audience?

6 Responses to “Trip to Tennessee”

  1. Renee June 23, 2011 at 6:12 am #

    I was born in Oak Ridge TN, not far from Knoxville. Fun fact, the town may not appear on older maps as it was originally established as part of the Manhattan project. I doubt there’s any sightseeing there, its still a government lab and probably still surrounded by very high fences.
    My parents did enjoy the smokies though. Apparently baby me enjoyed it as well.

    • heather June 27, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

      Very interestnig fact!

  2. cara June 24, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

    Ooh, I want to know where you end up stopping. Asheville, NC is at the top of my list of places to visit, and I’ve decided a similar road trip would be fun! I’ve heard great things about Lexington and Louisville, KY. I’ve also received several recommendations for their bourbon tours, which could be interesting. Nashville is supposed to be a very pretty city, too.

    • heather June 27, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

      I’ll keep you posted on where we end up on our trip 🙂

  3. bombboyben June 30, 2011 at 6:38 am #

    Gatlingberg is interesting as far as I remember. If it sucks blame it on youth. But its at the base of the smokies. I remember alot of shops that I thought were dumb so that most likely equates to interesting now. Or maybe a tourist trap? Also there is the bone farm some where in Knoxville I think it would be a cool tour but I’m into gross things. Also I think there’s a botanical garden in Nashville. Oh and “who wants an icecream cone?”

    • heather June 30, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

      I’ve heard Gatlinberg is a tourist trap. But you never know where we’ll wander. A bone farm? That sounds interesting. I’ll look it up. Lol! I’ll take two ice cream cones. Gotta store some calories for that day 🙂

Leave a Reply

