Resolved to read more

11 May

I’m notoriously bad at making New Year’s Resolutions. They seem almost pointless to me. Why wait until the beginning of the year to make positive changes in your life? I’m fairly sure “Floss more” was my standard answer between 2006 and 2009 when asked about a possible resolution. And honestly I didn’t even try to keep that resolution.

This year, I was struck with a bit of inspiration in December after my director at work had her entire group read “Monday Morning Leadership.” One of the tips in the book is to read a few minutes each day in order to finish 12 books a year. It was such a simple sentiment that I knew immediately I wanted to give it a try. Plus it seemed like a challenge that would only have positive impacts.

My original thought of reading 24 business-related books was modified to 12 non-fiction books, which I figured was a more manageable goal and allowed some flexibility with my topics.

So far it’s been going great! I’ve finished the following books:

January – Four Hour Work Week (if you don’t know, this was part of the inspiration for this blog)

February – Freakonomics (The most interesting read thus far. I highly recommend it.)

March – Who Moved My Cheese (This book is tiny, but perfect for a March that was fairly busy.)

April – Moon Walking with Einstein (This was added to my list after seeing an interview with the author on The Daily Show. It was really entertaining and well written.)

Now I’m up to “Nuts: Southwest Airline’s Crazy Recipe for Business and Personal Success” and I’m really struggling. The book seems very dated (it was published in 1998 and we know a lot has happened since then). Also the authors seem to be so passionately in love with the company that it makes me a little ill. I’m not saying I want a totally objective read, but the authors seem to have moved from appreciation to fawning all over Southwest. And thus far it’s just been boring! I’m about 80 pages in and wondering if I should chuck it and get a new book for May, which has its own set of problems. The main one is that I’ve been ordering sets of books from Amazon and I may not get a new batch in time. That single fact is pushing me to stick it out with “Nuts” but I’m not exactly excited about it.

 Has anyone read this book? Were you bored in the beginning? And most importantly, did it get better or did you give up reading it? Also, do you have any New Year’s Resolutions you are still actively pursuing?

4 Responses to “Resolved to read more”

  1. Renee May 14, 2011 at 7:46 am #

    two words: Library Card! The City and County (you can be a member of either or both) libraries are quite good-that way you can save money and not have to wait for shipping. I’m a book-aholic and could in no way afford to buy everything that I read. Also the county library system has a book club where they email you a chapter or two of a book a week, so if you’re goal is to read one book a month, that might be something you’d be interested in
    http://www.slcl.org/bookclubs/
    as for non-fiction books, I have really enjoyed ‘Geography of Bliss’ and Julia Child’s ‘My Life in France’. Neither are business themed though.

    • heather May 17, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

      Lol! You’re totally right. I should be going to the library. At this point I’m way too swamped to find one and get a card, but if I keep up this plan I’ll need to look into it. My problem with the library is that I’m ALWAYS turning in the books late. Any tips for getting them there on time?
      Thanks for the suggestions. I’m definitely moving a little away from the business intent because I can only read so many of those before they blur together. I figure all non-fiction is equally worthy 🙂

  2. bombboyben June 30, 2011 at 6:46 am #

    Try starbucked. Interesting.
    Or! Ask mom there’s one about a father with cancer non fiction and a great read.

    • heather June 30, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

      I’ll look Starbucked up. I think I read the father with cancer one. Was it short and written as a memoir to his kids?

Leave a Reply

