Yay oven!

5 May

The range if fixed! Hallelujah! I know God has very little to do with the return of our oven/stove but I’ve got a chorus of gospel singers going to town in my head.

Here’s a peek at the new “brains”. It’s hard to tell from the picture, but it’s in the “on” position and there are no random, annoying beeps coming out. It’s about time!

True to my word, I immediately scooped up some bananas that were lingering on the counter in hopes that we’d have a working oven before the fruit flies descended. That sounds really gross, but when it comes to banana bread browner is better.

 About an hour later we had two delicious loaves of Easy Banana Bread. Easy is almost an understatement when describing this Cooking Light recipe. As long as you have a somewhat decent pantry and a few overripe bananas, it comes together in a snap. The baking time draws out the process, so it’s not ideal for a weekend breakfast because I’m rarely never up before Hubster, but it’s a perfect make ahead meal for the week (and by week I mean one loaf = approximately 3 days).

Yay oven!

2 Responses to “Yay oven!”

  1. experimentalchristine May 6, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    That’s great news! But wait…I thought we had an agreement that you’d always bring me a piece of that fabulous banana bread. No? Dang, I must have made that up in my mind. 🙂

    • heather May 6, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

      Ha! I almost sent you a text this morning to see if you wanted a slice. I don’t know why I didn’t. I froze a loaf so I’ll make sure you get a piece when we pull it out in a few weeks.

      PS – Does it get much dorkier than talking to each other on our own blog? 🙂

Leave a Reply

