Welcome baby Jackson!

3 May

Yesterday was quite the exciting day for me!  As an only child, you’re never certain if you’ll have the opportunity to have a niece or nephew.  Fortunately, for me, my husband has several siblings so I had a feeling my chances had increased!  Well, yesterday, my husband’s older brother and his wife had an adorable baby boy, Jackson Thompson.  The middle name is still TBD. 

The entire experience was new to me.  I somehow managed to stay at work, relatively focused, the entire day, knowing that the other Christine Thompson had been induced that morning and would be giving birth sometime yesterday.  Thankfully, my brother in-law sent me updates via text message so I didn’t feel like I was in the dark at my desk all day.  Things were progressing along very well so at 4pm, I hit the road to meet up with Brett to go to the hospital.

By the time we arrived, we were told that Christine was in the “pushing phase” already!  Sure enough, at 5:47pm CST, Jackson arrived, healthy as can be!  He weighed in at 8 lbs 12 oz and is 21 ½ inches long.  Big, beautiful boy!

While Christine (did I mention my brother in-law’s wife is also a Christine?) recuperated and had some dinner, we rushed up to the nursery to see the cutie pie through the window:

Wow, I had no idea how much they put a baby through right out of the gate!  Jackson was so cool, calm, and collected though.  He only cried a little bit when they pricked his foot for blood and a little during his first bath.  However, as she measured him and gave him a thorough overall inspection, he was about as easy going as can be!  I just watched quietly, trying to take it all in, for what seemed like an hours.  It was so much to learn and absorb.  Good luck Brad and Christine!

Before we headed out, we were able to see the lucky mom and dad.  I see where Jackson gets his calm attitude.  Both parents were so relaxed and so happy.  I’m anxious to check up on them in a week from now to see if that’s changed from the sleepless nights!  Ha!  No, I know they’re going to be a fabulous, loving family.  Congrats to Brad and Christine!

And before you even ask….Brett and I say, “Never say never, but children are not in our 5 year plan!”

3 Responses to “Welcome baby Jackson!”

  1. jill May 4, 2011 at 1:46 am #

    I think they should be in your five year plan:) congrats on being an Aunt!!!

  2. Sarah May 4, 2011 at 5:31 am #

    how fun! cute!

  3. experimentalchristine May 4, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    Thanks! Last night, we visited Jackson and I held him for the first time. He was swaddled so it was a piece of cake!

Leave a Reply

