A lot going on… but I’m thinking about baking

28 Apr

I haven’t blogged in a while. The past few weeks have been insanely busy and I knew I needed to say something but I couldn’t think of what. This happens to me on Facebook too, so I shouldn’t be surprised that I’ll need the occasional hiatus from the blog.

I’ve been very busy and if you stopped me in the hallway I could tell you a hundred things going on in my life, but none of them seemed “blog worthy”. That’s a bad way to look at it I suppose, but it’s been keeping me from sharing. In part it’s because I’ve been abysmal about taking pictures of anything. I hate blogging without art. It seems almost pointless to me, so posts about our awesome new retro desk, the progress in our space, and our first adventure at the farmer’s market seem flat without a visual. Perhaps I need to attach my pro camera to my right hand permanently. Speaking of, we launch straight into wedding season starting tomorrow, so it will feel like the camera is attached to my hand…

 In the meantime, I’m thinking about cooking. I’ve added two food blogs to my feed today alone. I’m ready for spring produce and my own kitchen and I almost had it… except the electric panel on our stove totally crapped out and I’ve been putting together “George Foreman” meals (aka anything I can cobble together from ingredients I had for other meals and can cook on George Foreman) all week.

 When the stove is back in running order I’m going on a baking tear. I want fruit muffins for breakfast (or the banana bread that Hubster can’t get enough of). I’m ready to bring cookies to work… or to some of our new neighbors in an effort to peep at their condo and see how different it is from ours. And, as of this morning, I want Marcus Samuelsson’s cornbread that Deb is drooling over on Smitten Kitchen.

Oooh a visual! This blog is complete! Hopefully I’ll be back next week with more to say and more to show.

2 Responses to “A lot going on… but I’m thinking about baking”

  1. Renee April 29, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

    I had this conversation with my friend Lori recently (not the baking, we lack an oven here) about things being ‘blog-worthy’. Its hard to know whats worth sharing with the internet and whats drivel. But when I think of some of my favorite well known reads (pioneer woman, YHL) some of my favorite posts are the very ordinary ones. Maybe its the writing style that gets me hooked-Or the ‘they’re just like me’ aspect, no idea. But its encouraging. And really, if the worst thats going to happen is its boring, well, sometimes i think the internet could use a little more boring!

    • experimentalheather May 2, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

      Thank you so much for this comment. It made my day when I read it. You’re totally spot on. I would ready anything on YHL because I love their narrative style. Thanks so much for the encouragement 🙂

Leave a Reply

