Slowly making progress

21 Apr

Sorry I’ve been MIA this past week. In true fashion, Hubster and I decided to see how much we could paint/move/unpack in the shortest amount of time possible. To be fair, we both felt pretty good about our schedule:

Friday – Get into condo early, paint, sleep at condo

Saturday – Wake up early, paint, grab dinner and sleep at my parent’s house for the last time

Sunday – Grab truck at 9 am, pack, drive, unpack truck, begin putting stuff away

Monday – Make great progress on putting stuff away and relax in the evening

 After owning a house and painting every room at least once, we’re pretty much pros at painting. (By the way, this was totally confirmed when the plumbers who came to the condo to evaluate the toilet in the master bathroom literally asked if we were professional painters.) Hubster is great at estimating how much paint we need.  He cuts and I roll. This system works great… until we leased a condo with huge ceilings and windows that required a ton of edging. See below for evidence:

 Great windows = win! Painting around them = FML!

 So the painting took a little LOT longer than expected. I think Hubster’s best time for edging the main space and hallway was just over 3 hours. Ugh.

 Plus we were just having days where things took MUCH longer than we expected, like the Realtor pushing back when we could get the keys at the last minute and disassembling our new grill in Lowe’s parking lot because it was ½” shy of fitting in the Jeep.

 But I’m happy to report that we’re technically moved in and after some final painting in the bathrooms on Sunday all of the walls are the right color. We’ve also managed to put the right stuff into every room so there has been progress. I’m hoping to get more done this weekend and have pictures to share!

 Anyone out there want to make me feel better and tell me that you and your spouse also underestimate home projects?

2 Responses to “Slowly making progress”

  1. Renee April 29, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    Its been like a week since you posted this, but I can TOTALLY sympathize! When we moved I convinced myself (and Bahar) that packing up our apartment would be easier if I did it by myself, after Bahar left for Bangladesh. I guess I was thinking that he’s a horrible packer and I am a pro, but it was AWFUL! The packing and cleaning took SO much longer than I expected. My litany during those two weeks was ‘never again!’. Next time we move, I’m determined we’ll do it at the same time.

    • experimentalheather May 2, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

      Isn’t it funny how we minimalize huge tasks? It’s trite but I definitely felt like our situation was a “live and learn” experience. Hopefully we’ll all put these lessons to good use next time!

Leave a Reply

