Running is killing my feet!

5 Apr

Well, I’m happy to report that I’ve been maintaining my exercise routine!  I’m not going to lie, I had one week that I only worked out 2 days, but in my defense there was a lot going on in my work and personal life.  At least I still fit in 2 days, right?  Typically, I’ve been doing 5-6 days a week.  I’m still doing those Jillian Michaels DVDs and have been running a few days a week.  The combination has been working well for shedding pounds, but it’s been hard on my feet!  (Picture quality is actually making my feet look better than what they really are…)

Now, I’ve always been a runner, but in the past, I just didn’t care too much about what my feet looked like.  As long as I had nail polish on my toe nails, I thought I was good to go.  Oh, and I should clarify, I painted my own toe nails.  I’ve always taken pride in the fact that I’m pretty low maintenance.

Well, last fall, my husband made a big mistake.  He talked me into treating myself to a pedicure.  Ever since then, my feet just haven’t looked or felt the same when I simply paint my own toe nails.  Sure, polish helps, but they’re still so rough, especially around my heels and big and pinky toes.  I know, yuck, right? 

That being said, does anyone have any good tips on self pedicures?  How long do they usually take?  I don’t always feel like making the time to run to the salon.  It turns into taking up an entire evening!  Although, I think I would like to go to a salon at least a couple of times from April – September.  For those in my area, any places you recommend?  Thanks!

Leave a Reply

