Which cleaners/waxes should I use?!

29 Mar

 

Well, I’m a little behind in writing about the frustration I encountered a couple of weekends ago.  I was very excited that it was warm enough to wash our boat that weekend, but as I looked up and down the dock, everyone was using a different type of cleaner.  I always go with the trusty Turtle Wax:

The first wash of the season is always the most strenuous.  I must say, this cleaner is so good at cutting through the dirt and grime!  I’m a big fan and recommend it to anyone.  Although, it makes me want to ask the question, has anyone ever used this in the past, but since found a better cleaner?

Now, where my real confusion and frustration lies is with specialized cleaners and waxes.  I could really use some advice here.  Which cleaner works best for spider droppings, without dulling the fiberglass?  I’m very cautious when using stronger cleaners because the last thing I want to do is strip the shine off of our fiberglass!

Which brings me to my next question….which wax works the best?  Our fiberglass is in decent condition.  It’s definitely not oxidized, but it’s also a 1998 boat so I’m not about to claim it’s super shiny.  I’m looking for a product that we could use each spring and fall to wax our bow and flybridge.  I’ve seen people use metal polish, dry washes, rubbing compounds….ahhh!  Please leave me comments on what you know has worked great for your boat.  There are so many products and advertisements out there, but I don’t know which one to trust!  It’s so easy to spend so much money on these items!  Thanks! 

2 Responses to “Which cleaners/waxes should I use?!”

  1. AGB March 30, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

    ZYMOL is by far the best wax I have ever used for a boat. I have tried many, many, many different waxes,for many different applications, and I always come back to ZYMOL. my prefereance is to apply it with a random orbital buffer, and then hand wipe it off. I know a lot of people think that this is backwards but I have had really good luck with it on many different boats. It is easy to apply, easy to wipe off, even in places where the humidity is ridiculously high like GTB!

    I use it on the boat, motorcycle, cars, pretty much everything! I have even used it to clean plexiglass! There is a bottle of it on the boat if you want to try it!

    See you soon!

    • experimentalchristine March 30, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

      Hey Alyn – Thank you! Yes, next time we’re both down at the boat, I’d love to give it a whirl. I’m new to waxing…Brett’s always done it in the past. I love washing the boat though so I want to see if I enjoy the waxing process too. I like the feeling of accomplishing something. 🙂

Leave a Reply

