Life ADHD

21 Mar

As mentioned in my initial post, this blog is all about exploration. There are no set goals (besides posting regularly) because we’re both willing to let it ride and see where it takes us. That seems to be an overarching theme to my life at the moment.

I’m a little worried that I’m developing life ADHD. I just don’t know what I want to do! Here’s a breakdown of recent thoughts

  • 45 days ago – Polish photography skills and work up to first shooter status. Don’t get me wrong, I certainly know my way around a camera. But Hubster is definitely the lead when it comes to all things photography. I want to keep growing in this area so I can take on my own shoots, especially boudoir, family and senior portraits.
  • 30 days ago – Open an Etsy store! See more details here.
  • 15 days ago – Start this blog and see where it goes.
  • 14 days ago – Start a travel blog.
  • 30 minutes ago – After gazing at Design and Designers 2011 calendar  and then eyeing some gorgeous and fun invites on 100 Layer Cake (by Oh Joy! and Wedding Paper Divas), I thought, “I should learn letterpress.”

  • 5 minutes ago – Upon remembering my plan to start a travel blog, I did some quick research on Google to test my name for it.

ADHD much?

Ok, so maybe it’s not ADHD. I think I’m a dabbler. It’s not that I always chase the newest idea to cross my path. I’ve always had a deep seated love for visual arts and I can definitely see that current running throughout my notions listed above. What I’m worried about is the fact that I don’t have enough time or passion to pursue them all… and how do I choose? Do I break it down to which could turn into a business? Is that really the end goal?

I just don’t know what I want to do with my life…

If I took a week off of reality (hello PTO), I honestly think I’d try all of things listed above… and maybe a few others… and maybe that’s exactly what I need to do.

Is anyone else going through this turbulent exercise of defining your life? I can’t be the only one who stares at my cubicle walls and thinks “this can’t go on forever.”

8 Responses to “Life ADHD”

  1. Mandy March 21, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

    You aren’t. There are a million things I want to do. I just need some follow-through. I am enjoying the blog (which, incidentally, is something I’d like to do, too).

    • experimentalheather March 22, 2011 at 3:54 am #

      Thanks for the support. Follow through is definitely one of the things I’m lacking at times, but that’s mostly due to time management in my non-work hours. I’ll plan to do about 2-1/2 days worth of things in 8 hours and Aaron will just laugh at me 🙂 I’m so glad you’re enjoying the blog. If you start one, definitely let me know what it is so I can add it to my feed!

  2. bombboyben March 22, 2011 at 4:11 am #

    This flight of passions is new? I think I’ve always fought with this. Then I try to figure out what is realistic and what’s not and go from there. Working from easiest to hardest. This post also makes me laugh I still don’t know what I want to be or do when I grow up but I like a challenge and want to have the best time figuring it all out. I’m sure you’ll figure it out.

    • experimentalheather March 22, 2011 at 4:15 am #

      I don’t think it’s new… I think it’s just at the forefront of my mind at the moment. I don’t think it’s a midlife crisis (at least I hope not!), just a lot of musings 🙂

  3. Justin March 22, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    Two things:

    1. I know vaguely about your full-time job, does it involved working in front of a computer all day? I work from home for a software company, and I sit in front of these damn monitors all day long. What I’ve noticed is a similar feeling of ADHD development.

    I’ve been in this position for three years now, and it seems to be getting worse. What I noticed is that I have to constantly be reading updates or surfing the web or working on a project – if I jump on a conference call and there’s a slight lull where I’m not needed, I’ll start surfing Facebook or Digg or responding to other work emails, something to try to fill the void.

    My current theory is that it’s not so much ADHD, but that perhaps I’ve become so used to constant information being fed to me, that when there’s a gap in that information feed I (for lack of a better word) feel that empty space and must fill it up with more information.

    It got to a point that once I was officially clocked-out for the day, I would return to my computer several times to check email and respond, almost like an addiction. What I’ve done is

    a) I take breaks every hour. I will get up and go outside and pet the dogs/cats, I’ll go get the mail, I’ll just do laps around the inside of the house. Just something to get me up and away from the computer.

    b) I disconnect my connection to work so I’m no longer fed emails on a continual basis.

    It seems to have helped, but I still find myself struggling on conference calls. I’m here at the PC, I can’t leave b/c I need resource documents, etc, so I’ll start to get distracted. It’s a conscious effort to not seek the information feed.

    2. After that long #1, I’ve forgotten what my second point was. Maybe I do have ADHD…

    • experimentalheather March 22, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

      Lol!
      Yes, the day job is sitting in front of a computer. I totally agree that I’m constantly trying to “fill the void”… or just the time between start of the day and end of the day. It’s certainly not as bad on days where I’m constantly busy with “real” work.

      Your suggestion for taking breaks is a good one. I frequently “take a break” by reading blogs but I should probably actually get up for a minute. I’ll definitely try that!

      I’m pretty good about disconnecting when I leave work. I don’t think about it when I’m not here because I do’t feel that I’m paid to do so.

      Thanks for the comment! Let me know if you think of your second point 🙂

  4. Renee March 24, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    Are you doing a lot of traveling? We’re hoping to take a trip to India in April and maybe Thailand this summer. So if you do decide to do a travel blog, I’d certainly be available to do some guest posts if you’re ever looking to fill some space!
    also, I adore letterpress! Fell in love with the range of hues and the weight of the paper when I was selling custom stationery. Did you know it’s the Oldest form of printing-love it.

    • experimentalheather March 24, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

      Unfortunately, no. The move to St. Louis put a serious dent in our travel fund. Thankfully we have a few destination weddings booked for 2011 so we’ll still get to move around a bit. Plus, Hubster pointed out that I’d need to be traveling quite a bit to fill a blog about it. He’s too smart for his own good sometimes.
      I can’t wait to hear about your trips! Will you post them on your blog?

      Letterpress – be still my heart. It’s so awesome 😀

Leave a Reply

