Game time!

17 Mar

 

This last year has been very exciting for me, in regards to my career.  My roles and responsibilities have grown at a rapid pace, and fortunately, I’ve been able to keep up and perform well.  It’s been stressful and trying, but well worth it in the end.  I feel like I’ve been “in the zone” for 12 months straight…it’s been a continuous game time for me with a million overtimes!  I don’t think anyone would argue with me that I like to be in control so I must say, I’m the one that pushed myself this hard for so long.

This week, I learned that someone very close to me has a promotional opportunity in front of them for their career.  I’m so excited for them, but at the same time so nervous.  With all my practice over the last year, I wish I could be the one interviewing for them!  I know what works well for me and my style, in prepping for a job interview, but that doesn’t mean it works for everyone.  I tend to research, practice, study, practice again, more research, create handouts, practice again, and so on and so on…  The idea is that I’ll be plenty prepared once the big game comes. 

Do any of you have any good advice or suggestions on how to prepare for an important interview?  Any specific rituals you perform while getting ready?  Any specific opening or closing statements you make to your interviewer?  What about questions?  Any must have questions you ask?

Thank you, in advance, for your feedback!  Game time is Monday at 1pm EST!

2 Responses to “Game time!”

  1. Brandi {not your average ordinary} March 19, 2011 at 1:06 am #

    This may sound simple, but I always make sure I wear something that makes me feel confident. That little bit extra goes a long way. It may be the actress in me, but I feel like if I can dress the part, I’ll be the part.

    • experimentalchristine March 19, 2011 at 4:16 am #

      Ah yes, thank you, and very good point. You’re totally right. When you look good, you tend to feel good. Nice suit – CHECK!

Leave a Reply

