Diet and Exercise Rollercoaster

15 Mar

Diet, exercise, weight-loss….these are all words that have been in my life on a daily basis since I was a senior in college.  Prior to then, I was always active and kept fit through various activities.  Come senior year of college, I left my collegiate athlete boyfriend for a new guy that was into boating, partying, and overall socializing.  Okay, he had more to him than that, but it was those reasons why the new guy first caught my eye!  I had been spending most of my college years arranging my small social schedule around studying and afternoon runs.  Going out to a bar or waterskiing on a week night was unheard of to me!  This new guy, Brett, reminded me that it’s important to embrace recreational activities in order to keep sanity.  The key difference – he has a freakishly fast metabolism and I apparently didn’t!  Cutting out runs + drinking more beer = WEIGHT GAIN for me.  Yikes!

Fast forward to 2011 and I’m still with Brett!  We have an amazingly, fulfilling life through our friends, family, careers, boating, etc.  I love everything we share, yet, I still struggle with that original lapse in my metabolism.  After my college graduation in the spring of 2004, I signed up for Weight Watchers and joined a gym.  I managed to drop all the extra pounds that summer and held it off for many years.  It was never easy, but since I continue to grow older, it’s gotten much more difficult.  I know I’m not alone on this one!

After Brett and I got married in October of 2009, I totally splurged on food over our honeymoon.  Whoops!  It seemed like a good idea at the time!  Well, we got back and were shocked to hear how many friends and family wanted to take us out to dinner to hear about our trip.  Again, it was more bad food choices and little time to exercise.  Next came Thanksgiving, then Christmas, you get the picture, right?  Before I knew it, I had put on 20 lbs since our wedding!  I was so overwhelmed that I gave up and ended up putting on another 10 lbs.  Sad, I know.  Over the last year, I’ve lost some of it, but then am quick to put it right back on.  I have excuses, but like when I was in shape and told others, you can always find a way to diet/exercise, no matter how busy you may be….I didn’t listen to my own sermon.

All that being said, I feel I’m ready to buckle down again.  Is anyone with me?  Here I go again on the rollercoaster of weight loss!  It’s scary and I’m afraid of failure, but I have to at least try again, right?  Last week, I decided it may help me if I could try something new and different for my exercise routine.  Mostly, I’m just afraid of going back to my gym!  Ridiculous, I know, but I feel like people will recognize me and notice how much weight I’ve gained.  Embarrassing!  I’ll go back once I feel better about my body image, but until then, I’m trying a new DVD series by Jillian Michaels.  The set is called, The Biggest Winner!  How to Win by Losing.  So far, it has been kicking my butt!  I’ll keep you posted on my progress.  I know Heather will help me stay on track.  She’s much better at consistency than me!

Please let me know if you’ve tried this DVD set or if you have any words of wisdom!  I’ve been in incredible shape and in terrible shape.  I like to say, “I’m a person of extremes.”  I know exactly how and what to do to lose weight and feel great.  It’s getting me to stick to a lifestyle change that is so challenging.  I usually make it about 2-3 months at a time….  Stay tuned!

2 Responses to “Diet and Exercise Rollercoaster”

  1. Beth March 16, 2011 at 7:05 am #

    Hey dear! I need to join you in this getting into shape thing! I have a wedding coming up you know. Unlike you, I don’t think I am going to wait until after the wedding to gain 30 pounds. I have horrible eating/exercise habits! I keep telling myself that the dress is already bought, and they can’t add fabric, but my appetite and laziness don’t seem to want to listen! Plus my social life involves quite a bit of alcohol (e.g. girls night trivia on Tuesday’s and partying on the weekends) Let me know if you have any eating suggestions. You were in such amazing shape on your wedding day, I was sooo envious (still am)! I’ll follow your blog, and maybe it will inspire me in some way. You have this influential way about you! I look forward to reading more! You are doing wonderful so far!

    • experimentalchristine March 16, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

      Hi Beth! Yes, please, let’s work on this challenge together! Have you ever followed any specific diets in the past? I have to admit, I’ve tried them all, but when all said and done, exercise and portion control is what works the best. I try to stick to lean proteins, veggies, fruits, and good carbs. Let’s discuss next time we hang out!

Leave a Reply

