Lovin’ Trader Joe’s

14 Mar

It’s snowing here today, which is a real bummer after the spring like weather we’ve been enjoying. It also means I’m holed up and working from home. So today seems like a great day to try Trader Joe’s Shepard’s Pie.

Hubster tried it a few weeks ago and loved the homey quality. Plus it’s only 340 calories for the whole box (which I probably won’t finish)!

While I indulge let me tell you about my love of Trader Joe’s. I definitely have a long seated crush on Trader Joe’s that’s really blossomed since our move to St. Louis. We’ve actually made it our primary grocery store while we wait out our time in the burbs, (though we do hit up mainstream grocery stores for things like diet soda.) Every time we go I feel inspired to make or try something new.

Here are a few of my personal favorites

  • The cheese case – There’s nothing better than a well done cheese selection… except when that cheese selection is affordably priced.
  • Hummus – It’s as creamy as restaurant versions and makes me want to give up the quest to perfect an at home recipe.
  • Pizza dough – Only 99 cents and the perfect size for two calzones! I’m waiting for the right pizza recipe to strike my fancy to give it a whirl with that method.
  • Reduced Guilt Mac and Cheese – Normally I don’t like microwave mac and cheese, especially the diet kind, but this box contains the perfect creamy noodle concoction.
  • Edamame – The perfect healthy snack.
  • Coastal Cabernet – Forget $3 Chuck. Upgrade to this $5 vino and you’ll be happy to fork over the extra $2.

To fuel the fire, I just ordered The Unofficial Guide to Trader Joe’s, which promises product reviews and recipes for the top 50 products and should be in my mailbox within the next 2 weeks. Considering the amount of turnover at TJ’s, I’m very interested to see if all of the products are still available. But based on this review of the Lemon Curd (which will be in my shopping cart tonight when we make our weekly grocery run), I’m excited to see what else is in the guide.

Has anyone else bought this guide? Or do you have a favorite product at Trade Joe’s that I need to try?

P.S. The Shepard’s Pie was rather bland. It was very meaty so I only ate about half along with a salad. It won’t be making my lunch menu again.

2 Responses to “Lovin’ Trader Joe’s”

  1. Brandi {not your average ordinary} March 15, 2011 at 5:27 am #

    Trader Joe’s is a weekly stop on my shopping circuit — they have some really yummy prepared foods. And I always get their pre-cut butternut squash to make soups.

    • experimentalheather March 15, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

      We’ve been diving into the prepared foods too. I have been leaving one empty spot on my dinner list so we can pick up something new each week. I’ll have to try the pre-cut squash. Thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

