Start of the Season

10 Mar

Ready to cruise!

 

Well, spring is fast approaching!  My husband and I are always one of the first boats to de-winterize because we suffer from severe cabin fever.  Being home on the weekends is just not our thing, mostly because we have a small condo.  The condo is perfect, when you spend most of your time away in the summer, but it makes for long off-seasons.  Once the St. Louis Boat Show hits in early February, we take it as a sign to start prepping for boating!

Over the last few weeks, we’ve done small things to get ready, but it’s time to kick it into gear.  My blood is pumping just writing about it!  The thoughts of warm weather, blue skies, swimming, and cold drinks in our hands is enough to make all the hard work seem worth it.  That’s exactly what it is though…hard work.

This year, I plan on taking off an entire week from work, to spend on prepping for the season.  It’s two-fold.  We have to get our condo organized so that we can barely touch it for through spring and summer and we have to get the boat ready so it becomes our new home!  What does this mean?  Lots of trips to Target, West Marine (boat store), and the grocery store because it never fails.  We always forget an item the first go around!

That being said, are there any other fellow boaters out there?  If so, how do you prepare for the new season?  A simple list?  Do you take it in stages?  We’ve been doing this for years and years, and I still don’t feel like we have a very efficient process.  I’m hoping having the week off this year will allow me to strategize first and attack second.  Therefore, please send any suggestions my way!

Meanwhile, the Jimmy Buffett playlist will take over my iPod and I’ll be ordering some new canvas Sperry’s – staples for any diehard boater!

4 Responses to “Start of the Season”

  1. Cheri March 10, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    I bought Steve a pair of Sperry’s when he came home for R&R in 2009. He wasn’t too impressed – UNTIL he wore them on the boat! They’re hard to find out here in Hawaii – so I’ve been looking for a fun “girly” pair!

    • experimentalchristine March 11, 2011 at 3:28 am #

      Brett and I both love our Sperry’s! They have so many on their website. Journey’s shoe store also carries pretty many…curious to see which pair you end up getting!

  2. James Bielefeldt March 11, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

    Hi Christine,

    I think you guys have a good method: start early. By the time it’s warm enough to enjoy working outdoors, you’d rather be boating. I always de-winterize after April 1 and since I winterize the boat myself its easy for me to start her up. As far as getting her in ship-shape, that doesn’t get completed until July. My wife demands we boat as much as possible and that limits my maintenance time, so it takes forever.

    PS: Smaller boats are easier to own, but obviously not as fun.

    • experimentalchristine March 11, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

      Hi James – Thanks for the feedback! We’re extra anxious this year since we now have a ski boat again too. More maintenance and more to keep clean, but it’s still worth it, right!?!? LOL! Hope to see you both on the river and at KY Lake again this summer!

Leave a Reply

