One day I decided to start at Etsy store

9 Mar

It wasn’t even a trip to Etsy that inspired this thought. Sure, I’ve binged on Etsy for far too much time at work like any other creative, crafty woman. But the light bulb moment happened while reading someone else’s blog. (I’ll hang my head in blogger shame as I don’t remember who and the feed never made my Google Reader mentioned here.) This as-of-yet unforgotten blogger decided that her passion for vintage finds was overwhelming her house and therefore she needed to sell some of her treasures.

How brilliant?! Hubster and I have been visiting antique malls for a few years. When you’re a full time photographer (or have a 9-to-5 job, second shoot for a photographer while helping run other details of said photography business, plus cook, clean and generally run a household) you don’t have a lot of “spare time”. When those elusive moments arrive, usually due to sheer exhaustion on a Sunday afternoon, you’re really not ready to run out and pick up a hobby that involves a lot of time. What you are willing to do is grab a latte and wander a nearby antique mall. And so we did… again, and again, and again.

It’s addicting! Here’s a short list why

  • It’s SO interesting what you can find at antique malls. One man’s trash really is another man’s treasure at times. Speaking of, sometimes those booths are literally full of trash. It makes me wonder what would possess someone to try to make a buck or two off old McDonald’s toys or very un-antique pop culture items (signed poster of Pamela Anderson anyone?).
  • This added fuel to the fire that re-ignited Hubster’s love of film and vintage cameras. (This is a topic for another time or another blog altogether if he ever decides to start it…)
  • It’s cheap retail therapy.

We are, however, very picky about what we purchase. This pickiness means we pass by a lot of items if we don’t have the space for or don’t love love the item. B U T we could certainly be pickers…

Buzz back to the future with me. A woman with a similar sounding addiction is turning her hobby into a side business. I could do that! In fact, I could do that without adding to my already overwhelming schedule and it won’t even cost much!

In fact, all it took was a few minutes to register and a few hours spent at a local antique mall one Friday evening. Viola! FadedView was born.

Take a few minutes to check out my starter collection of vintage finds. I’m loving the aeronautical maps! Is there anything you’ve been looking for that you’d like to see in the shop? Anyone out there a fellow Etsy binger? What are your favorite stores?

2 Responses to “One day I decided to start at Etsy store”

  1. Renee March 12, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    Ok, you guys are officially added to my Google Reader!
    Heather, I totally loved this post. I adore antique stores, especially ones in small towns (bonus, small town = lower price), but I just don’t/didn’t have room/places for some of the treasures I see. I might have to copy your idea whenever I get back stateside.

    • experimentalheather March 13, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

      Yay 🙂
      It’s good to know someone else is also addicted to antique stores. I’ll keep you posted on how the Etsy store goes. So far I sold a vintage dress pattern.

Leave a Reply

